The Logical Song – A different look at the FCE Word Formation part

Lesson based on a song by Supertramp

Level(s): (B2) Upper-Intermediate / (C1) Advanced

Aimed at: Teenagers/young adults/adults

Aims: Listening for gist and specific information/ FCE practice: to provide an environment where students can practise their word formation skills in a memorable way/ Speaking

Materials:

Worksheet 1

Song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5k3JVfxluFU

Time: +/- 1h

  1. Have students work in pairs and write the following quotation on the board:

“_______ is a candy shop filled with candies. Some are bitter, some are sweet, some are soft, some are hard, some are colourful, some have weird shapes, others have even weirder tastes, and some have a surprise centre waiting to be discovered.”

Can you guess what the mystery word is? Do you agree with the quotations? What does the mystery word mean to you? Discuss with your partner.

+/- 5 min

The mystery word: LIFE

  1. After a brief feedback have students listen to the song and write as many ADJECTIVES and ADVERBS they can hear. Ask them to compare their lists in groups. +/- 10 minutes
  2. Give out Worksheet 1 to each student and ask them to fill the gaps. They have to change the words provided into adverbs or adjectives. At this stage you can explain that they are expected to complete a similar activity in the third part of the Use Of English section of the FCE exam. Have students compare their answers in pairs before they listen to the song.  +/- 15 minutes
  1. Have students listen again and check. +/- 5 minutes
  1. Discussion: Have students work in pairs and ask them the following question:

Is it a happy song? (Have students discuss it)

When they have finished, ask them another question and repeat the procedure until the last question from the below list:

What does the song criticize?

Do you agree with the singer?

What do you think “a vegetable” mean in the 4th stanza?

Who´s got a simple mind?

What kind of questions are bothering the singer at night?

Feel free to add more! +/- 10 minutes

Worksheet 1

The logical song by Supertramp
When I was young
It seemed that life was so 1_______________ 1. WONDER
A miracle, oh it was 2_______________ , 3. ___________ 2. BEAUTY / 3. MAGIC
And all the birds in the trees
Well they’d be singing so 4. ____________ 4. HAPPINESS
5________________ 6. ___________ watching me. 5. JOY /6. PLAY
But then they send me away
To teach me how to be 7. ___________ 7. SENSE
8. _________, 9. _________, 10. LOGIC/RESPONSIBILITY/PRACTICE
And then they showed me a world
Where I could be so 11. _____________ 11. DEPENDABILITY
Clinical, 12_______________ , cynical 12. INTELLECT
There are times when all the world’s asleep
The questions run too deep for such a simple man
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned?
I know it sounds absurd but please tell me who I am
I say, “Now what would you say or they calling you a radical
13. ___________, fanatical,14.____________ LIBERATE / 14. CRIME
Won’t you sign up your name? We’d like to feel you’re
15. __________, 16. __________, presentable, a vegetable 15.ACCEPT / 16. RESPECT
At night when all the world’s asleep
The questions run so deep for such a simple man
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned?
I know it sounds absurd but please tell me who I am
Who I am, who I am, who I am
Cause I was feeling so 17_______________ 17. LOGIC
D-d-digital
Oh, oh, oh, oh
It’s getting 18. ________________ 18. BELIEF

 

Answer key:

When I was young
It seemed that life was so wonderful
A miracle, oh it was beautiful, magical
And all the birds in the trees
Well they’d be singing so happily
Oh joyfully, oh playfully watching me
But then they sent me away
To teach me how to be sensible
Logical, oh responsible, practical
And they showed me a world
Where I could be so dependable
Oh clinical, oh intellectual, cynical

There are times when all the world’s sleep
The questions run too deep
For such a simple man
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned
I know it sounds absurd
But please tell me who I am

Now watch what you say or they’ll be calling you a radical
A liberal, oh fanatical, criminal
Oh won’t you sign up your name
We’d like to feel you’re
Acceptable, respectable, oh presentable, a vegetable

At night when all the world’s sleep
The questions run so deep
For such a simple man
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned
I know it sounds absurd
But please tell me who I am, who I am, who I am, who I am

Cause I was feeling so logical.
D-d-digital
Oh, oh, oh, oh
It’s getting unbelievable.

 

Have fun creating!

Song background:

A perfect example of combination of great lyrics, beat, and instrumentation in a 1979 hit that is constantly ranked in the “top 100 best rock songs”.

The song, not unlike like others in that period, is a scathing criticism of British school and education at the time.

The above post was first published at:

http://teacher.pl/the-logical-song-a-different-look-at-fce-word-formation-section/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

