The Power of Motivation

Lesson Plan:

Lesson based on a song ´TITANIUM´ by David Guetta

Level(s): (B1) Intermediate / (B2) Upper-Intermediate

Aimed at: Teenagers/young adults

Aims: Listening for gist and specific information/Speaking in the context of motivation and praise/Metaphor interpretation/Vocabulary focus: ways of saying WELL DONE!

Materials: Song:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JRfuAukYTKg

Song handout: See Appendix 1/ Song lyrics (for teachers): See Appendix 2

Time: +/- 60 minutes

1. Brainstorming/Different ways of saying WELL DONE!:
Ask the students to work in small groups and make a list of different  ways of saying WELL DONE!

Have their ideas listed on the board and add some of your own ideas to their lists.  At the end of this activity you should have something similar to this on the board:

sem nome

 

+/- 10 min

2.  Ask the students to work in pairs and think of how praise can motivate them to achieve better results. Do they feel  they are being praised enough? Too much? Who praises them the most? Can praise be addictive? Is praising always fair? Do they think they need praise? Why? etc.

Have a brief class feedback

+/- 10 min

3. Tell the students that they are going to listen to the song TITANIUM by David Guetta

Ask them if they know what TITANIUM is (a very strong and light silvery metal) and why the author chose it as the song´s title.

After a brief feedback have the students listen to the song and fill in the gaps (Appendix 1) Ask them to compare their answers in pairs. +/- 10 min

4. Have the students listen again and check. +/- 5 minutes

5. Song interpretation:

Ask the students if they think this song promotes violence. If not, what does it promote?

(possible answer: It doesn´t promote violence. It uses a violent metaphor in order to illustrate hurtful actions and words)

Ask the students to define a metaphor and give you some examples.

Metaphor: an expression, often found in literature, that describes a person or object by referring to something that is considered to have similar characteristics to that person or object:

“The mind is an ocean” and “the city is a jungle” are both metaphors.
Metaphor and simile are the most commonly used figures of speech in everyday language.

Ask the students to work in pairs and look at the song´s lyrics again. Ask them to think of what the following metaphors stand for:

YOU in the You shout it out line   (answers may vary; YOU, for instance, could be the society)

RICOCHET in the I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet  line (you´re not going to give up because of all the criticism, disapproval around you; you´re stronger than this)

SHOOT DOWN in the You shoot me down but I won’t fall line (Someone can really put you down, make you feel miserable)

BULLETS (metaphors for the shouts/criticism)

TITANIUM (the speaker is like titanium, highly resilient)

Ask the students to work in pairs and find more examples of metaphors in the song.

Have a brief class feedback and don´t forget to praise them!

+/- 20 min

Happy creating!

 

Appendix 1

Titanium

You _____ it out,

But I can’t hear a word you say

I’m talking _____ , not saying much

I’m _____ but all your bullets ricochet

______ me _____, but I get up

I’m bulletproof, nothing to _____

Fire away, fire away

Ricochet, you take your aim

Fire away, fire away

You _____ me _____ but I won’t fall

I am titanium

You _____ me _____ but I won’t fall

I am titanium

Cut me _____

But it’s you who’ll have further to _____

Ghost town and haunted love

Raise your voice, sticks and stones may _____ my bones

I’m talking loud not saying much

I’m bulletproof, nothing to _____

Fire away, fire away

Ricochet, you take your aim

Fire away, fire away

You ______ me _____ but I won’t fall

I am titanium

You _____ me _____ but I won’t fall

I am titanium

I am titanium

I am titanium

_____ – _____, machine gun

Firing at the ones who run

Stone heart loves bulletproof glass

You _____ me _____ but I won’t fall

I am titanium *4
Appendix 2

Titanium

You shout it out,

But I can’t hear a word you say

I’m talking loud, not saying much

I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet

Shoot me down, but I get up

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose

Fire away, fire away

Ricochet, you take your aim

Fire away, fire away

You shoot me down but I won’t fall

I am titanium

You shoot me down but I won’t fall

I am titanium

Cut me down

But it’s you who’ll have further to fall

Ghost town and haunted love

Raise your voice, sticks and stones may break my bones

I’m talking loud not saying much

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose

Fire away, fire away

Ricochet, you take your aim

Fire away, fire away

You shoot me down but I won’t fall

I am titanium

You shoot me down but I won’t fall

I am titanium

I am titanium

I am titanium

Stone-heart, machine gun

Firing at the ones who run

Stone heart loves bulletproof glass

You shoot me down but I won’t fall

I am titanium *4

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

